Nicola Kirk: Author and Collector of Paranormal Stories and Other Strange Encounters

Image result for biggest book

Draft One!

I haven’t been doing much blogging of late because I have been working on my latest novel.  Sliver will be my tenth book.  I’m feeling quite proud of that.  But I’m having a bit of a problem with my current set of characters.  The arguing, the back chat, the overruling, the in-house fighting… whose novel is this?!

Image result for Characters misbehaving

At Least It’s Not Just My Characters That Misbehave.

I started out writing this novel in my usual fashion.  Have a basic idea.  Expand on that idea.  Twist it inside and out.  Create the characters, their lives, their backgrounds.  Then I like to break my story outline up into sections before I start writing so I have a good idea how each chapter is going to turn out.  Super.  Off we go.

Image result for Characters misbehaving

Halfway through my first draft I get a little niggly voice in my head telling me, this would be so much better if it were told from a third person point of view instead of first person.  It would be fresh, something different…

But… that means I’m going to have to do a rewrite now because it will completely change the heart of the book.

Sure, sure, if that’s what you need to do.

So, two hundred pages in, I begin the rewrite.  It’s going great.  I’m adding to the ideas I’ve had so far, expanding the storyline, adding depth to my characters.  And then…

Hey, you.

Sod off, I’m busy.

We know, but we’ve been talking and…

You’re my characters.  You’re part of my imagination.  You don’t get to sit around and chat.

Yeah, okay, whatever, but even so, we’ve been talking and… see that character over there?

Yes.

Well, we think this story would be much better if…

Yes?

If they were a bloke instead of a bird.

A bloke.  Wait, you do realise what this means?

Another rewrite.

Yes.

We thought that would be the case, too.

You bunch of bastards.

Image result for starting again funny

Nicola

weirdworld@hotmail.co.uk

©Nicola Kirk and http://www.nicolakirk.wordpress.com 2017

Comments on: "When Characters Are Allowed To Think For Themselves…" (2)

  1. Vincent M said:

    Good luck with the rewrite. It happens. It is what it is.
    There’s no negative connotations associated with a rework. If anything – you never know: if successful; one day people may ponder as to the initial intentions or origins – much like x-rays of great artists that reveal other works underneath their masterpieces.

    It’s not a learning curve. It’s an experience curve.

    Go get ’em tiger!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

