Nicola Kirk: Author and Collector of Paranormal Stories and Other Strange Encounters

Freaked Out By Myself

Also Known As ‘I’ve Run Out Of Chocolate.’

I like spooky stuff. You may have realised that by now. It’s something I love to death, as it were.  I’m usually quite proud of the fact that the stuff I watch and write about doesn’t usually have an effect on me.  I think the last time I did something that ‘haunted’ me, was about eight years ago when I went to an old bunker in search of strange happenings.  I did find some strange happenings, as it goes, as while I was tramping about in the dark tunnels I recorded the sound of what appeared to be footsteps approaching me and then going away.  I didn’t hear anything at the time but later when I listened to the recording the hairs on the back of my neck did do a little Highland Fling.  That night, all I could think of was that old bunker and what it would be like in the middle of the night with the wind howling through the vacant tunnels, one of which had, incredibly, an old burnt out car languishing at the end of it.  Considering the bunker was sunken and surrounded by steep banks, getting a car down there must have been quite some feat.  For some reason, the thought of all those old dark disused doorways disappearing back into the hillside got to me and even after all this time, thinking about the place still makes me shiver.  Why?  I don’t really know.  I’m sure I’ve been to other places that were just as creepy but they haven’t affected me in the same way.  I even used the bunker setting in one of my books (Skaran).

I Suspect This Is What Really Happens.

The other night, I was watching one of those ‘ghost hunter’ type programmes.  Not mentioning any particular names, but it was… horrendous.  The assumptions the investigators leapt to were nothing short of spectacular.  The inventions they created to ‘capture ghosts’ with were, I’m sure, based on nothing more than ‘well, this would look funky, and we could set some explosives off at the same time!’  It was okay for some background noise while I did some sewing (I’m creating an absolute sewing masterpiece at the moment for my daughter.  Should be finished for her 21st birthday.  She’s going to be 3 next month).  Once the paranormal debacle was done and I wondered why on earth I’d recorded the entire series, I found another one to watch for a bit.

I love Ghost Adventures with Zak Bagans and his crew.  I’ve never heard the word ‘Dude’ used with such carefree abandon and passion.  Just that one word can cover a multitude of occasions:

  • Zak becomes possessed by a demonic entity: “Dude!!!”
  • Zak pokes Nick in the eye while trying to find out if his colleague is wearing a respirator in the dark: “DUDE!? WTF?!”
  • Aaron hears a strange noise coming from somewhere in the building: “Duuuuude, did you hear that?”

So, I watched a bit of that too, before heading off up to bed, just to round my evening off.

As I said, programmes like that do not usually affect me in the slightest.  I watch it, turn off and go do something else without giving it a second thought.  Last night, I watched it, turned off the television but then… my mind kept wondering off to think about the abandoned asylums and penitentiaries that Zak and his friends had be creeping around.  I had a curious moment whilst washing my face where I suddenly had to frantically scrape the soap out of my eyes so I could check that a creepy old woman wasn’t sneaking into my bathroom while I wasn’t looking to… um… do, I don’t know what to me… possibly something involving custard, but I can’t be sure.  But I was able to conquer my fears and get into bed without further ado.  Until I saw this:

And now I will never sleep again.

Nicola

©Nicola Kirk 2016 and www.nicolakirk.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

