Nicola Kirk: Author and Collector of Paranormal Stories and Other Strange Encounters

What on earth is NaNoWriMo? Well, for those of you who have a great idea for a book but have been putting it off and putting it off, this is your chance to get on with it and GET IT DONE!

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month: http://www.nanowrimo.org) is exactly what it says on the tin. You write 1667 words a day ( which equates to 50,000 a month) for the whole of November (not as gruelling as it sounds oddly enough) and by the end of the month you have the basis of your novel to pick over and rewrite at your leisure – but at least a vast majority of the work is done! The idea is to just write. Don’t delete anything. If you hate something so much you can’t bear to look at it, rest assured that you can change it later – so if you wish you hadn’t made Aunt Fanny a nymphomaniac or you’ve given your pet dog the ability to make animals out of balloons and SO wish you hadn’t, you can sort it out during your rewriting sessions at a later date.

I’ve had an idea for a romantic comedy brewing away for a long time, and once my son arrived I thought it was an idea that was going to have to sit on the back burner for years to come because I just wasn’t going to have the time to do anything about it – but not so. Here we are, half way through November and I’ve written…31874 words so far. I write a little bit on the train of a morning whilst other commuters either stare over my shoulder to see what I’m doing (some of my best witticisms emerge like this because I make it a mission to see if I can squeeze at least one giggle out of someone reading what I write) and either finish my quota at lunch or when my lad’s gone to bed at night. It doesn’t take long for the word count to add up and it’s not taken over my life.

One thing I would say, it helps to have an idea of how the story is going to go before you start NaNoWriMo – I think if I’d just sat down and started rambling away without any idea of where the story was going, I’d have struggled a bit to keep it going.

The novel is going well so far, and I suspect it could well end up featuring on my Amazon Kindle page next year some time (once I’ve ripped it apart, sewn it back together and changed all the characters at least three times).

And yes, I couldn’t help myself: there is a small element of paranormalness in there somewhere – well, you wouldn’t want it any other way would you?

I’ll check in with you soon to let you know whether my novel’s got the better of me or if I managed to reach that golden 50,000 words finish line… wish me luck!

Nicola

Comments on: "NANOWRIMO – THE WRITING MARATHON – WHAT WAS I THINKING!?" (5)

  1. dan krettek said:

    cool idea. I wish you all the best and look forward to reading the finished product

    • Hi Dan,

      That’s very kind, thanks for your support!

      Regards.

      Nicola

      • Well, I’m delighted to say that I managed to complete NANOWRIMO – not sure where I found the time, but the journeys into work certainly went quickly while I sat there scribbling away…

        I may have finished writing 50,000 words but I still have a little more work to do before the book is finished. Then there is the rewrite… oh my!

  2. Usually I write during NaNoWriMo (seven years) but took last November off. What a gas to crash through so many words! Must admit mine efforts needs gobs of editing afterward.

    • Hi Robin,

      It was hard work to write 50,000 in a month but so worth it. I’ve almost finished the novel I set out to write and it’s nice that it’s only taken a few months instead of over a year or so. I’m going to have a go at the Script Frenzy event in April too – maybe see you there?

      Best wishes.

      Nicola

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

