Tales From A Weird World

The Legend of 3:33am…

In my earlier article, The Gate House, Kieron Savill of Paranormal Knights mentioned that there were some interesting theories flying around on the internet as to why some people frequently find themselves waking up at 3.33am.    What is so special about 3:33am?

One forum user made an interesting comment: “333 is only half the message, that’s why it is being repeated. The whole message is 666. Sleep tight.”

It may be meant as a jokey comment, but is there more to it?  It is generally accepted that the ‘witching hour’ is 1am and it is considered a time when the veil between this world and the next is thin enough to allow things of a supernatural persuasion to take a peek into our world.  But some say the ‘witching hour’ can also be any time between 12am and 3am, with 3am being sometimes referred to as the ‘Devil’s Hour’. Perhaps waking up at 3:33am is the Devil’s rather persistent way of getting your attention…

Being the ‘Devil’s Hour’, 3am is also apparently a prime time to whip out your grimoire for Black Mass. I wonder if Satanists restrained themselves until 3:33am if they would have more luck.

Rather worryingly for those who find themselves waking up at 3am or 3:33am, Kenneth Deel’s website reports: “In short if you often wake up to see the clock is exactly 3:AM, you might being seeing this as a warning. The number 3 turning up is a Demonic symbol, so we take note on a short list when it occurs. As it can often defiantly (sic) be an indication something is manifesting or already has…”

In Will Storr’s book, Will Storr Vs the Supernatural (which is a book I would highly recommend – very entertaining and well written), he has included a section about strange occurrences between the hours of 3am and 4am (although from what I’ve seen so far it’s beginning to look like any time after the sun goes down is a good time to break out the EMF meter).

Another forum user suggested that if you sleep between two doors, you may be getting hit by the ‘spiritual traffic’ that moves around between the hours of 2am and 4am.  Perhaps 3:33am is rush hour on the spiritual plane.

Another interesting theory is that Christ was allegedly killed at 3pm, so what with 3am being the inversion of this time, it is the chosen hour for all things of an antichristian bent to come out and party.

On yet another forum (got to love forums, haven’t you?), this one being the GHE Paranormal forum that Dave Hobbs runs with general abandon, it is suggested that maybe people wake up once at 3:33am, think ‘what a coincidence, all the threes!’ and then manage to subconsciously programme themselves to wake up at the same time on subsequent nights.

On the other hand, perhaps the phenomenon can be explained in a rather more mundane fashion.  If anyone else out there is like me and wakes up bleary eyed in the night and looks at the clock, every time could read 3:33am.  Some digital clock displays fade over time until it can be a struggle to read the numbers, especially if you’re half asleep.  And can’t be bothered to put your glasses on.

Nicola

Weirdworld@hotmail.co.uk

©Nicola Kirk and http://www.nicolakirk.wordpress.com 2010

Comments on: "The Legend of 3:33am…" (27)

  1. In one of messages of the Virgin Mary given to Don Stefano Gobbi, of the Marian Movement of Priests, we can read: “333 indicated once, that is to say, for the first time, expresses the mystery of the unity of God. 333 indicated twice, that is to say, for the second time, indicates the two natures, that of the divine and the human, united in the divine Person of Jesus Christ, 333 indicated thrice, that is to say, for the third time, indicates the mystery of the Three Divine Persons, that is to say, it expresses the mystery of the Most Holy Trinity. Thus the number, 333, expressed one, two and three times, expresses the principal mysteries of the Catholic faith which are: (1) The Unity and the Trinity of God, (2) the incarnation, the passion and death, and the resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

    i found this on: http://www.ridingthebeast.com/numbers/nu333.php#comment-result

  2. Hi, I’ve been waking up at 3:33am every mornning for the past 11 years. Heard alot of feed back, read alot of stories connected to the paranomal and so forth. Like to meet other people to share stories and experiences…thank you David

    • Daniel Krettek said:

      Hi David, I’m not able to reach your email through this site but I will try it through my email. If I can’t reach you please try to reach me at 1965krett@hotmail.ca. Thx. I started waking at 3:33am at the age of 14 or so( I am 46 now). this went on for about 9 months I mean every single night. Then maybe 3-4 nights a week. It has come and gone through the years and has started up again. It started soon after seeing the Amityville Horror, a supposed true story where the father woke at 3:15am every night, and I’m sure you know the rest. I have had absolutely horrific, demonic dreams. Of course, I do love horror movies. I’m just starting to research it now and would really like to pick your brain as you have been experiencing this for an extended time period. The first thing I thought of was 333 is half of 666 which can’t be shown on a clock. I’m trying to find out if it is good or bad. I’m sure that will vary in opinion from priests on down to satanists, but I would like to try to find unbiased opinion. I read that there is some relation to some verses from Daniel in the bible. Guess what my first name is. Anyway, I’ve gotta run. Please contact me.
      Dan

  3. ps you can email me at dmbakker@yahoo.com with feedback and possible friendship thtax again David

  4. I don’t know if I believe in demons but it is possible that seeing 333 or waking at 3:33 am in the morning is something like a message. If it is half the meaning then why would the devil want a good god loving person to contact or corrupt? I just worry about my friends who are being haunted by this number through out their lives and will be asking psychics and mediums about it forthwith.

    • Hi Bonju,

      Thanks for your comment.

      I suppose many a Christian would argue that the devil’s main purpose is to contact and corrupt honest God-fearing people. Perhaps he would go about it by any means possible, including trying to draw the curious in by only giving them half a message (333). That’s just my thoughts though and I’m sure your friends have nothing to worry about.

  5. Back in 2002 around june…i woke up at exactly 3:33 am…to the sound of someone running throughout the house.
    The following day i mentioned it to my girlfriend who did not believe me and had been sleeping next to me at the time.
    That night…again at exactly 3:33 am the same strange thing happened…onky this time i woke my girlfriend so she could see i wasnt crazy.
    It sounded like a kid was running throughout our home.we had floorboards nit carpet.
    The third night was also the final night…
    And yet again at 3:33 am it happened again…only this time i got up to check the
    locks…every door was locked every room was empty and every window shut…i wasnt scared as much as spooked.but the next day i looked up any info i could and i read about 3:33 being the devils hour.
    Just wanted to share my story because evidently i’m not the only person something of this nature has happened to.

    • Hi Mal,

      Thanks so much for your post.

      Have you considered researching where you live to see if any other strange occurrences have been reported in the past, or if your property has any history that might explain the phenomenon?

      Regards.

      Nicola

  6. I’ve seen 3:33 pop up on clocks my whole life, nothing particularly spooky has ever happened at this time however, and I have had a lot of experiences with ghosts in the past. I heard somewhere that 3:33 is the devil’s way of mocking the holy trinity, but I dunno, I’m not very religious.

  7. Hey! Very often I have this relaxing dream about 3:33AM that usually evolves into a disturbing nightmare. I can’t describe it. I’m not a musician but I tried to “express” it with music that I named:

    “3:33AM Relaxing Nightmare”

    Peace.

  8. This happened to me last night. I am not religious (in fact the opposite – science). To add context it was one hell of a weekend. I am in the process of going through a divorce and on Saturday we were having text wars (I know, I know) and it struck me as odd that her final comment to me was “God will strike you down”. I was so angry that I lashed back in sacrilege. On The following day I was catching a flight (which I missed) and booked a later flight. I realized I had left my laptop at home and hit the interstate to return home for it (I had time). I was clipped from behind by another driver, fishtailed, and just as I corrected the truck I plowed into the back of another car. I had no seatbelt on and saw weird things right before impact. (nothing describable) almost like an aura. I had a concussion and contusion but survived. We hit at least at 50+. After the comment made by my wife I began to question why I survived (everyone did although both vehicles were totaled). I later went to the DMV and happened to get a clerk with a”God Bless You” tag she had drawn. I asked to take picture and she offered to give it to me. Now I was really questioning. Last night I woke up at 3:33. Nothing strange happened, no sounds, etc. I did have an eery feeling though which is why I even looked it up. Besides I vividly recall waking at 4:44 the night before I received the news that my cousin passed. I know people seek answers coming to these sites and I don’t have any. Sorry. I just wanted to share my experience. Again this just happened last night. It’s not recurring. Thanks… Mike

    • Hi Mike,

      Thanks so much for dropping by my blog and for your comments, it’s much appreciated.

      Your story brings to mind something I think of as the ‘curse effect’. You may have heard of it before: if someone tells you you are cursed, then something bad or unpleasant happens, you automatically put down to ‘the curse’, whereas if the events had just happened without someone ‘cursing’ you first, you may not have thought too much of it. As your ex told you ‘God will strike you down’, I suspect it would have shocked you somewhat (who wouldn’t have been rather shocked by a comment like that?) and naturally have stuck in your mind, so when the string of unfortunate events happened afterwards you linked it all together and associated it with her ‘curse’ for want of a better word. That’s just my theory though. What do you think?

      Regarding the curious legend of 3:33am, people have told me that they seem to be haunted by other times of the day other than 3:33am and they can’t think why. One particular person says they always notice the time 9:11. They have asked me on more than one occasion why they always seem to notice that time. I suggested that they noticed the time being 9:11 once or twice and have now made a subconscious note of it, so they are more inclined to be ‘aware’ of that particular time of day or night. Either that, or it’s just their natural break time and their brain is telling them ‘it’s 9:11! time to get the tea and biscuits out!’ I’m sure many people will automatically think of the tragic date 9/11 and may think there could be more to it than tea and biscuits though. I’d love to hear what you and others think.

      Hope to hear from you again in future.

      Regards.

      Nicola

  9. I’m one of you, 3:33 has been in my life since I was around 14. Nothing scary just seeing it everywhere, waking up. Also 4:44 and 5:55 has been a few times, but the most funny was when my clock stopped and froze on 9:99 ! My son see 11:11 almost daily, and he always make a wish. :)

  10. Donald Waaj said:

    Last night me and my pregnant fiance were sleeping on our couch in the living room like we have done since she has become pregnant, (she says having the TV on relaxes her). Well last night I woke up a few seconds before our TV suddenly and randomly went to loud static. I had a dark feeling rush over me, after comforting my fiance and changing the channel, I looked down at my phone to see the time change from 3:33 to 3:34. Within a few minutes we relaxed and were ready to go back to sleep, when the TV went blackish gray and went two channels down, by itself, the remote was on the floor beneath me and we in no way touched it. We then turned on my Xbox and watched netflix for 3 hours just trying to calm down. When i was able to fall asleep around 6, I had 7-9 short dreams that all started out the exact same way. The whole night had an eerie feeling about it. Should we be worried? or just a crazy random coincident.

    • Hi Donald,

      Without wishing to dismiss your experience, I wasn’t there of course and it sounds like quite an unsettling thing to have happened during the night, I wouldn’t read too much into it. It could well have been just a glitch with the TV. If it had happened during the day, chances are you wouldn’t have thought too much of it, just given the telly a whack and went on with your day as usual. Things always seem so much worse and frightening when they happen at night. Has this just happened the once? Your odd dreams could have been brought about because you had an unsettling night and it was your brain’s way of sorting through the information. As I say, I don’t wish to appear to be super skeptical, but I’d hate for you to be worried that there’s something odd going on when there’s probably a normal explanation for what you experienced.

      Thanks for dropping by and sharing your experiences.

      Nicola

  11. werner niksch said:

    hi there
    i just woke up last night at 3:33 am and googled it and got to your page.
    well when i grew up my mom used to tell me about the things that happened at our old house.she used to wake up at 3:33am every night and then her cupboard door would slowly creak open,a broken music toy,which string you used to pull for music,started playing(the string was totally pulled out and it didnt work even if i pulled it on my hardest)and sometimes she said it even felt like someone was sitting next to her on her bed.nobody believed her about any of it till i slept with her in her room one night and experienced it myself.what a eerie feeling….
    i just wanted to share my story as i think there are many people out there with the same experiences.if there is anybody who can maybe have some kind of explanation that could make sense it would be greatly appreciated.

    • Hi Werner,

      Thanks a lot for dropping by my blog and for sharing your experiences. It will be interesting to see if anyone can offer any further explanations or experiences that might tie in with yours.

      Regards.

      Nicola

  12. Greetings,

    please help me to find the answer to this. for the passed few days i’ve been waking up in 3am. and one night i was writing for something, when i looked at my phone for the time, the time was exactly 3:33am. Here is the thing, my phone has a lock, but the time was changed. i never change my time, it is in automatic. But how is it possible that my time was added 3+ hours. Only 3 hours. no minutes. my time was set to where i live so it is not possible that it’ll be changed and added 3+ hours.

    ps. I only want to know the answer if this is related to what i should be doing at 3am. Sometimes if i have an important work to do I set my alarm at 3:45 close to 4. Sometimes 3am. But when i need to do this i cant because of this fear. i am a midnight person, who does the job well at 3-5am. i cant work in the afternoon. do you think this is somehow related?

    Please do tell me if something is against me.

    I am a religious type of person, just so you know. i wont defy Gods existence.

    thank you. It matters to me most.

    • Hi,

      Thanks for visiting my blog and for leaving your comments.

      If the time on your phone has only changed once, I would be inclined to think it’s just a one off electrical fault. I wouldn’t read anything into it – after all, electrical goods aren’t infallible, even if their antics do seem a little strange at times.

      If I were you, I’d just carry on working the hours of the day or night that suit you best; personally I don’t think you should be concerned or start reading things into this occurrence.

      I’ve had numerous discussions with people as to why they notice certain times more than others, be it 3am or 3:33am. One theory is that because we notice a certain time once or twice by chance, we then subconsciously start looking out for it, so we notice the same time more and more often until it becomes… somewhat spooky. One person I spoke to kept noticing the time 9:11, morning and night. We thought it might be something as simple as that’s the time of day/evening that he fancies a cup of tea or something to eat and his body is tuned in to receiving refreshment at those times – it’s a possibility.

      I’d be interested to hear what other people might think of this theory and to hear any other theories people may have.

      Best wishes.

      Nicola

  13. This 333 thing is no coincidence. Waking up every night and seeing this time means something! I woke up seeing it for 3 years. I know for a fact it had something to do with my curiosity for the paranormal at the time. When I woke at this hour it never felt soothing, as a matter of fact it felt very eerie. I have to mention the dreams during this three year period……strange and unusual. I have put that curiosity behind me and waking up at that time has stopped. The 333 I think was a way for something “un human” reminding me of its presence. I have absolutely no doubt that evil lurks among us. By showing interest you allow yourself to sought after. On a kinder note…..Angels exist as well. So ask yourself….what do you want to invite into your life? 0:)

  14. Im up right now because I didn’t wanna be in my room ONE more night at 3:33. I thought I was alone….not crazy. I have NUMEROUS reasons that the number has effected me…last night solidified it. The number is very telling for whatever reason…but whatever it is, Im listening. And Im not alone…Ive had many witnesses to these happenings….and I do not know what to do…………ugh.

  15. just come across this blog by accident. ive had the 3.33am wake up thing for years. im not religious, very skeptical about the paranormal even though ive had a few strange things happen to me in my life. Didnt even know this happend to others untill now. I get up, go to the toilet, say to my self ‘hear we go again 3.33′ look at the clock and there it is, i actually found it quite funny. Since i Googled ‘Why do i wake up at 3.33am’ im now a bit spooked to be honest. I find it really weird that this has been happening to loads of other people for years aswell. I thought stuff like this only happend in the movies.

    • Hi,

      Thanks for leaving your comments on this. I was reading something a while back that says the brain resets itself at about 3am (roughly) and so if you wake up after this time you may find it harder to get back to sleep because your brain has started its ‘new day’ even though you still want to sleep. I’ll try to find out where I read it and put a link up because it made quite a bit of sense. Many people seem to wake up at about 3am or thereabouts and I wonder if the 3.33am phenomena is because of this ‘brain resetting’.

      Regards.

      Nicola

  16. I used to wake up every night at this time after I played with the “devils tools” strange and stranger things kept happening. This is only yet my case. I prayed and after a solid 6 months I finally quit. From time to time I wake up at 3:33. I shrug my shoulders as I “feel” nothing. It usually only happens when I’ve been up to no good. Perhaps subconscious but I have experienced a lot and this didn’t start happening until I did what I did.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

